Project Permissions

Get up to speed with Doppler's project permissions model.

Doppler has three levels of project-based access: Viewer, Collaborator, and Admin.

The workplace permissions model dictates that users with Owner or Admin permissions will always have full access to every project and environment, while users with Collaborator workplace permissions must be granted access on a per-project (and per-environment) basis.

Users with Owner or Admin workplace level permissions (e.g. Luke Skywalker) will always have Admin level project access.Users with Owner or Admin workplace level permissions (e.g. Luke Skywalker) will always have Admin level project access.

Users with Owner or Admin workplace level permissions (e.g. Luke Skywalker) will always have Admin level project access.

The power of Doppler's project permissions model is that a user's access can be restricted at the workplace level while giving them Admin access on a project level.

This flexible and streamlined model is great for workplace security as it enables the number of workplace users with Owner or Admin access to be reduced as much as possible but without impacting project administration tasks such as adding and configuring integrations.

Granting Access

To see which users in your workplace have Collaborator permissions, head over to the team page.

Now that you have users on your team with collaborator access, let's add them to a project. Go to a project, then click the Access button.

Members can be filtered by name or email. Click to add them to a project.

Select which environments they can access, then click the Add button.

After doing so, they should appear in the Access list.

Updating Access

You can alter the environments a user can access by checking the appropriate boxes.

Removing Access

If you would like to remove a user's access to a project, click the Remove button. Removing a user will immediately revoke access to that project in both the dashboard and API.


Did this page help you?